How To Become NDT Certified

In a safe and effective way, nondestructive testing helps companies use processes and materials.Oil and Gas, Power Generation, Aviation and Aeronautics, Automobile, Medical, and Maritime Construction are some of the industries that it impacts.The successful completion of classwork, several exams, and hands-on work experience is what leads to certification.After you meet the requirements specified by your chosen method, your employer will create the certification document.

Step 1: Determine which method you want to be trained in.

Depending on your career choice, you can become certified in a number ofNDT methods.If your employer requires training, they will tell you how to do it.Acoustic Emission Testing is one of the commonNDT methods.If you want to become an MRI technician, you need to be certified in the methods.

Step 2: Determine what level of training you need to get.

Level III is the highest level of qualification and can be obtained with certifications.Depending on how much you want to advance your career, your employer may require a certain level or it may be a matter of personal choice.High school diplomas or GED equivalents are usually required for Level I and Level II trainees.To get Level III certification, a person needs to have a degree in engineering or science from an accredited university and at least one year of hands-on experience.

Step 3: If you have to, complete any prerequisite courses.

Depending on your chosen method, your employer’s requirements, and the country in which you live, Prerequisites may or may not be needed.If you need to complete any prerequisites, check the related guidelines.Prerequisites are fulfilled with a recognized training organization.You should get documentary proof that you have completed the training.You can get this document from the training organization or your instructor.To train in Radiography Testing in Canada, candidates must complete an 8-hour safety course and be pre-screened for their mathematical skills.

Step 4: You can take the courses for your method and level.

Check the guidelines for specific information when it comes to the hours of coursework required for certification.The classes can be taken at colleges, Vocational-technical schools, through the armed forces, or with commercial or company training companies.Your employer will tell you where to take the courses.40 hours of course work is required for a Level I Radiographer.Level II trainees need 80 hours.The hours of coursework may be reduced if you already have an engineering or science degree.

Step 5: You have to complete the required amount of hands-on work experience.

Each level requires a certain amount of work experience that must be obtained from your employer before you can be certified.You will be trained by a certified technician.The experience process includes specific work activities like observation, setting up and executing test procedures, and performing calibrations.Depending on your method, the work activities will vary.In your employer’s written practice, you should specify the length of experience required for certification.Ask your employer if it is.

Step 6: The general exam needs to be completed.

The basic knowledge and principles that you learned in the required course are covered in this exam.You can use your class materials to study for the test.Your employer will let you know where and when to take the exam.Level I and II exams are usually administered by a Level III technician.Level I, II, and III exams can be taken through a central agency if this isn’t possible.Documentation of qualification will be given by central agencies.

Step 7: Pass the written test.

Your knowledge of the procedures, equipment, codes, and techniques required to perform your job is tested in this exam.Your employer may have study materials for you, but the knowledge should come from your work experience and your schoolwork.You can take the exam through your company.

Step 8: The practical examination needs to be completed.

In order to pass this exam, you must demonstrate that you can operate the testing equipment, perform the required calibrations, record and analyze results, and complete any other job-specific tasks.You will be supervised by a certified technician when you take the test.

Step 9: You have to score at least 70% on the exams.

You must score 70% on each exam to be certified.Your average score from all 3 exams must be at least 80%.You should be able to take the exams again if you fail.If you need more information about retaking failed exams, your employer will give it to you.

Step 10: If you want to pass the visual examination, you have to do it.

It is important that certified technicians have good eyesight.The visual exam may vary from company to company, but generally it will test your ability to read a variety of text sizes up close and tell the difference between color contrasts and gradations.Someone at your company will most likely administer your visual examination.You can take the test at a central agency.

Step 11: You can get the official certification document from your employer.

You can get the official certification from your employer.You are eligible for certification once you have completed the initial training, exams, and experience requirements specified in your employer’s Written Practice.Your employer will decide how to issue the certification if the documentation is a formal certificate or letter format.